Bawumia beats Ken again; wins NPP flagbearer election

3 Min Read
Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia won the election to represent the NPP in 2024

Delegates of the governing New Patriotic Party have confirmed their trust in the Vice President, Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia to lead the party into the 2024 general elections as their presidential candidate.

This follows a second resounding victory they gave him on Saturday, November 4, 2023 in the NPP’s presidential primary held nationwide, which was largely a two-horse race.

After a landslide victory in the party’s Special Electoral College on August 4, Dr. Bawumia again won the presidential primary in excess of 118,000 votes, despite being given a run for his money by his closest contender Kennedy Agyapong.

Garnering 118,210 of the total valid votes cast on his side, Dr. Bawumia cruised to victory as against Kennedy Ohene Agyapong’s 71,996 votes representing 61.43 percent and 37.41 percent respectively.

Former Minister of Food and Agriculture Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto and former Mampong Member of Parliament Ing. Francis Addai-Nimoh who shared the third and fourth place had 1,459 (0.75%) and 781 (0.41%) votes respectively.

Total valid votes was 192,446, rejected votes stood at 900 with a total votes cast of 193, 346

The Vice President, who is arguably the establishment candidate, put up a strong show winning in 14 out of the 16 regions as well as the party’s national headquarters in Accra. Kennedy Agyapong won in the Volta Region and his home region Central.

Over 200,000 delegates voted in the election nationwide, which took place in 275 polling stations and 16 regional centres in addition to the national headquarters in Accra. The election was seen as a pivotal step by the NPP in breaking the eight-year election cycle pattern in Ghana.

The delegates, who make up the Electoral College, comprise Members of Parliament, Metropolitan, Municipal and District Chief Executives, ministers and their deputies, foundation members of the NPP, members of the party’s National Council and patrons and council of elders.

The rest are regional party officers, constituency officers, constituency patrons, constituency elders, electoral area coordinators, polling station executives, overseas branches and members of Tescon, the tertiary students’ wing of the party.

Share this Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *